It’s EARTH DAY!  On April 22 of every year, over 1 billion people in over 192 countries take action to bring attention to the issue of Climate Change.  So, what can you do to reduce your “ecological footprint”?  Well, you can start by taking this quiz to find out how your habits impact our planet.  There are also come easy things you can do everyday:

1.  Don’t drive when there’s an alternative, e.g. public transportation (bus, train) or biking

2.  If you need a car, get a small one and use it sparingly!

3. Grow vegetables and don’t waste food

4.  Instead of flying, take some local vacations!

5.  Make your home energy efficient.

6.  Buy local food. 

7.  A vegetarian diet (or at least one not too high in meats).

8.  RECYCLE!

9.  Turn off your computer when you’re not using it.

10.  Switch to halogen light bulbs.

I’m glad to say that I take public transportation to work and rarely drive my car.  Most weeks my longest trip is to my yoga class, which is 10-15 minutes away.  I only fill-up my car about once a month (sometimes twice, but the tank lasts me at least 2 1/2 weeks.)  I also only eat about 1-2 servings of meat per day, and it’s usually chicken or turkey.  That’s not something I consciously did for Earth Day, but rather was the result of revamping my diet a couple years ago when I lost 30 pounds! (Double benefit!)  I’ve recently gotten better about not wasting food by freezing leftovers and making sure I eat them even if I want something else! LOL.  And, I recycle pretty consistently and buy local when I can.  Now for the things I can work on: those local vacations and turning off my computer.  My boyfriend and I go on trips at least twice a year and we don’t do local! And, my work computer is only “off” for about 3 seconds when I restart it.  Those are two things I pledge to work on in the next year.  So, what are you going to do?

