Much to my surprise, I am sidelined with a knee injury.  Back story: about three years ago when I upped my exercise regimen (and lost 30 pounds – yay!), I would sometimes feel a little twinge in my left knee.  It would only happen sometimes and I wore a brace on and off to control it.  Then, I started jogging, which produced a full on case of runner’s knee.  Again, nothing too crazy and I controlled it by wearing a brace/band that stabilized my knee.  Over the years, I knew I should’ve seen someone about it, but I put it off because the pain didn’t plague me.  Well yesterday, I finally saw a chiropractor who performed the most painful deep tissue massage on my knee (which loosened up my knee tremendously) and told me not to exercise vigorously at all.  When my pleas for the elliptical and then the stationary bike were both met with a resounding “NO!”…I said OK, “well I’ll just walk then :-(.”   (Yes, I included the frown as part of my quote!)

I won’t be doing this anytime soon…

I looked up some exercises that go easy on the knees and I found this, this, and this, some of which I know I can’t do according to my Doctor.  So, for the next couple weeks, I’m relegated to long walks…too bad they can’t be on the beach.  Here are some upsides to taking a break from exercise, though:

1. My hair will stay fly.

2. I’ll catch up on about everything on my TIVO.

3. More time to shop and talk on the phone.

4.  Clean my room…

5.  Clean up the rosters on my fantasy football teams.

Have you ever been sidelined by an injury?

